New at this - preventing lows?

Hello! I’m pretty new at this and hoping I can learn from your expertise! I am recently diagnosed type 1 - I have been on basal insulin for a couple months and just added with meals last week. I think the basal amount is ok for now because my fasting numbers are decent, but I’m still working out mealtime doses. I’ve not yet had any significant lows, but it’s gotten lower than I’d like a couple times (60’s) and it really freaks me out :slight_smile:

What I’m wondering is, at what number is it a good idea to have a little food to prevent it going lower? Anything below 100 I start to get nervous, which is probably irrational, but I’m not sure when I should start to worry. At that point, what’s a healthy snack to bring it up a little and keep it steady when it’s not yet super low, but I don’t want it much lower either? I try to eat healthy, so I want to save the straight glucose for when it’s really necessary, and make healthy choices the rest of the time! Any guidance would be great!!

It’s not as simple as just looking at a single blood glucose number. That number exists in an important context. When did you last eat? What was the size and delivery time of your last meal insulin injection? How much time did you allow to elapse between your meal insulin dose and your first bite? Have you been very active?

100 mg/dL is not low. It’s a slightly elevated blood glucose. Non-diabetics spend most of their time between 70-99 mg/dL.

If you want to deal rationally with insulin therapy, you need to understand the basics of insulin therapy. You need to understand that each insulin formulation publishes insulin traits such as onset time, peak time, and duration time. You need to figure out your insulin sensitivity factors and insulin to carbohydrate ratio.