New here

Hi all, I am new to tudiabetes.com. I found you through diabeticmommy.com. I keep a general blog on livejournal and I get overwhelmed by all the possible places to blog, so I am not sure how much I will update here, although for a while it might be a lot because I am thinking about diabetes a lot right now. :(

My diabetes story:

My parents are both Type 2 diabetics who use insulin. They've both had Type 2 I would say for about 20 years? I have one brother who is Type 2 on insulin, and 6 others who are pre-diabetic or diabetic like me.)

I have always struggled with my weight and was diagnosed with PCOS (Polycystic Ovary Syndrome) in my mid-20s when my husband and I first began to try to have children. When I did get pregnant finally for the first time (metformin, clomid and IUI), I was diagnosed with gestational diabetes at the routine screening point at somewhere between 24-28 weeks pregnant. I was able to control it with diet for a while, but had to go on insulin after about a month. My baby was delivered by emergency c-section, without any BG problems and was 7 lbs, 8 oz.

After that pregnancy, I returned to normal from a blood sugar perspective. The fertility aspects of PCOS seemed to be mitigated by the first pregnancy. I've heard a lot of women say that, though I've never seen any evidence-based reasoning for why this happens. I got pregnant again quickly with child #2. We were on the lookout for GD this time, based on my history, I was started on insulin much earlier in the pregnancy, I want to say like 12-14 weeks. It was a longer road with more insulin this time. Again, baby born healthy, and was 8 lbs 1 oz. delivered VBAC this time. (it was great!) My blood sugar went back to normal after that pregnancy, too.