New pump

I just ordered my first Mini-Med Paradigm pump, any tips for a first time pumper.

I put this in another new thread but it works here pretty well too:

When I started playing around more with my pump, I was amazed that little adjustments, like .025U/ hour or .1G/U ratio, would make perceptible differences in my #s, not huge but if I felt something was 20 points high or low consistently, I could move it towards where I want it. It really helped me reconsider the "where" I was aiming at to get closer to normal and not to shy away from it.

I find the Medtronic reports, particularly the "pie chart" ones, very useful for stepping back to see the "forest" of BG through the trees of individual tests. If you have all day and your orange wedge (area to be improved...) is the biggest at a particular time, that's as good a place as any to take a look at. This showed me how my reactions to "wedges" could spread through the next time slot and how fixing one could provide more significant benefits through later time periods. Maybe it's sort of OCDiabetes but the micromanaging has worked very well for me.

1. Read the manual and follow the guidelines for setting up your pump.

2. Do the on line training modules.

3. Hopefully you have a CDE or pump trainer ready to get you going, wait for her before you connect with your pump. If not, then come back and ask away,

4. Welcome to pumping, I hope you find it improves your management.

Buy the book Pumping Insulin, 5th Edition by John Walsh and study it. It is the pumpers' bible.

read the pumping insulin book by Walsh - its definitely worth the time!

It's easy to get basal and bolus insulin doing each other's job. The basal rate should cover your basic metabolic needs (liver glucose output) while the bolus should only cover your meals/snacks.