New type 1

I was diagnosed 24 July 2008, in a coma with DKA, an a1c of over 15, and blood sugar at 693 in the ER. They kept me for 8 days on IVs, training me how to take care of myself.

The first day out of the hospital, I had my first low (mid-40s) because I was trying to do too much. By October I’d joined the 5% club. The wonderful thing about insulin is that I continue to feel better than I did before. I never want to go back into DKA–it felt awful. My most recent A1C was in January–5.7–and I run fairly evenly. Except that week I was on steriods for my wrist. I took about twice as much insulin as normal and still didn’t see anything below about 150.

I’m 34 years old, female. I’m a graduate student in Creative Writing, starting the program in the fall (right now I’m taking one class as a non-degree seeking student) for my MFA. Hopefully, I’m going to be a graduate teacher–for Freshman Comp–but I won’t know that for another bit. I read a lot, write a lot, sing, dance, cross-stitch, baby-sit my nieces and nephews. I’m the oldest of 6 kids, and have 4 younger sibs who are married. What else.

Well, I’m the only t1 in the family. In fact, for 3 generations, I’m the first to have any diabetes. Just lucky, I guess.

Hi teowyn,

Good to see you. Hope things have been going well for you. The crowd over here seems to be very friendly and helpful

Trisha

DX July 1984 IDDM (=250.01=Type 1) ~ member since 2/15/2011 on TuDiabetes
NEVER DOUBT the power of Diabetes OR the power of diabetics >>>my ADA blog

~ Born with IgA Nephropathy (= a diabetic autoimmune kidney disease)
~ Retired Trauma Radiographer (Level II trauma centers)
~ First light brings a new day, new hope, new wisdom, and a chance to start fresh again - PAL (me)
~ He is most powerful who has power over himself -Seneca

Welcome to TuDiabetes, Teowyn and congratulations on your wonderful numbers!

Hi Teowyn,