New User Sensor Day 7

Well the 1st week has been great no problems. Reset sensor this eve and it keeps on ticking… Today I put the Dexcom 7 to the test. I am a Lt. in the fire dept and caught my first house fire with the Dexcom. It work great I was able to wear it a see how my BG’s worked during the 2 hour operation. It worked without a glitch. I just place it inside my coat pocket in a waterproof pouch and check it every so often. I even had a few guys ask me how it worked out during and after the operation.and they where amazed. No tape problems either.
This is great I wish I had got it sooner.

Seeing the 1973 in your user name brings back old times for me. I was a paramedic in fire/rescue from 1973 to the mid 80’s.

Wearing your receiver under your bunker gear sounds great. I have a suggestion for the waterproof bag. Put it on a bright colored lanyard and alert your department medics to its presence. If you go hypo or mentally fuzzy, the medics will know to pull your lanyard and read the receiver to get how sweet you are. If you need to be sweeter because of an exertion induced hypo, one medic can make you sweeter while the other does a finger stick. I would hope your department’s medical control would buy into this special protocol for you.

BTW, my wife says of me “You can take the dog out of the street but you cannot take the street out of the dog!”

Be sure you rehab well on fire scene rotations.