Nurse with T1D?

Hi ! I’m currently in my last year of high school before college and I’m considering becoming a nurse at the moment. However, I’m worried that having T1D will have an impact on my studies and career.
-Will T1D affect my chances at being accepted into a nursing program at college?
-Is T1D serious enough to consider changing my career plans ? I’ve never had an hypo so bad I needed the help of someone else, but I can’t not worry about putting a patient’s life in danger because of my own health issues.
-Will being a nurse complicate my diabetes management? I know they’re not always allowed much time to eat/have bathroom breaks, plus high stress could make my BG stay up for long times… I’d be really grateful if anyone could answer these questions!

I know several nurses with T1D. It’s a tough and demanding job for anybody, but having t1 should not deter you from pursuing it.

My wife is also a nurse, who doesn’t have T1, and I can tell you it’s been a great career full of opportunities for her. I would highly encourage my own daughter to pursue a career in nursing if she was interested.

2 Likes

Also, there are plenty of doctors with T1D and they don’t let it hold them back from their desired profession.

I’m a doctor, and I have had T1D since 1978. I was 5 years old and in year 1 of primary school when I was diagnosed. Even before diagnosis, I had planned medicine as a career.
No one ever suggested to me that a different career might be a good idea because I had D, except for one endocrinologist, who was thoroughly burned out, and didn’t think anyone should aim to be a doctor, ever, at all.