OmniPod VS Minimed

I am considering switching to Omnipod. I’ve been wearing a Minimed pump for about 10 years. Are there any users who have used Minimed and are now on Omnipod that would be willing to talk to me about issues of switching?

made the switch last December and will never go back. That beng said it is a very personal decision and will be happy to answer any of your questions so you can make an informed decision that works for you.

Is there a food list that you can choose from when bolusing? Was the programming that much different from Minimed? Is it easier to manage? Tubeless is very appealing to me! Do you find yourself putting infusion sets in new places? I am a teacher and I’m looking for some freedom…Does carrying the PDA all the time bother you? Can I leave the PDA in my purse and program a bolus for later in the day? Sorry I’ve got so many questions! But I want to make the right decision! Thanks for your help!

The Omnipod PDM has a nice food database that you can customize.

The programming formulas are very similar. The major difference in the bolus calculator wizard is that the minimed lets you know how much insulin is aboard when you bolus for meals where the Omnipod assumes that you input the correct carbs and will calculate corrections without considering the food bolus. If you are used to the Minimed method it takes some getting used to but once you do it works just fine.

For me the main reason I changed and will not go back is the freedom from the tubing. It makes life soo much easier and the comfort is so good that I can actually forget where I am wearing the pod. I also have unlimited choices where to wear the pod. My personal favorite is my arms which is imposable with a traditional pump. Simple things like sleeping, showering, swimming, sports, etc. are just like not wearing a pump.