One negative needs three positive

How would you feel about being attached to a machine every day of your life? I’ve been thinking about that question a lot lately in regards to getting an insulin pump. After being a diabetic for over a year, I finally made the decision to go on one. I’ve been talking to a rep from OmniPod for over 2 months and tomorrow my pump should be arriving in the mail. I don’t personally know anyone who has used the OmniPod but I know other diabetics who have different pumps and I unanimously hear that pumps are 100 times better than doing shots. I’m ready to be done with shots too so all those positive reviews were encouraging to me.

As my mind raced in regards to my pump, a past conversation that stirred in me some negative emotion popped into my head. I was hanging out with a good friend and her fiancé telling them about the pump and the reaction I got from them was less than supportive. I’m sure they did not intent to come across this way, but when I told them about the whole pump concept; basically being attached to a machine at all times, they gave me strange looks as though I was crazy. Her fiancé even said something along of lines of a pump being awkward in a marriage. I was so discouraged and upset by their looks and comments that I had to leave the room. Although they have seen me through my entire journey with diabetes, they have no idea first-hand what it’s like to give myself injections multiple times a day and watch what I eat very carefully. They were, for once, not supporting me but, instead, making me feel like I was strange. Because of that one conversation, I put off getting a pump for a couple more months because I was scared that they wouldn’t be the only ones to think my pump was weird. (For the record, we patched things up and are closer now than ever.)