Parasomnia

I have known for a long time that I didn’t sleep like a normal person. When I lived at home, my sister told me that I thrashed around in my seep, snored, talked in my sleep and farted in my sleep. She even made a tape of me snoring, talking and farting in my sleep and played it for me.

I always slept alone so it didn’t matter much but now I sleep with my fiancee and it is worrying me. We have talked about it and he says it don’t bother him and is even kind of “cute”. I never wake up in the same postition I was in when I went to sleep so I know I still do it. I even wake up laying crosswise in the bed sometimes. I’ve been taking gas-X in the evening, hoping to stop any nocturnal farting, I don’t know if it is helping.

I am studying nursing in college, I asked one of my professors about my nocturnal activities, and she said it is called Parasomnia and lots of people have it to some degree. She said it often accompanied by nightmares. I don’t think I have nightmares but I can never remember my dreams so I’m not sure.

Even though my fiancee says it don’t bother him, I’m not sure he is telling the truth. It does bother me that I am doing something I have no control over that I know must be annoying to him.

Tooting in your sleep, that is so cute!!

I’d take his word for it that it doesn’t bother him. He finds it cute, so don’t worry. Nothing you can do about it anyway. My husband thrashes around. Doesn’t annoy me at all.

Your engaged? When did this happen? You haven’t been keeping us updated! Congrats!

I don’t sleep well either. I am pretty sure I don’t fart in my sleep but I know I move around quite a bit - my ex said I snored but I am sure that is not true as he is the only one who told me that. When I was younger, sometimes I would wake up with my head at the foot of the bed. :slight_smile: I haven’t done that for a looong time.

Maybe he sits awake at night and watches you sleep and waits for the next cute thing to happen? :slight_smile: