Partner of a type one, having a hard time coping

hello. my type one is my best friend and partner of two years. he is twenty seven years old and had his diagnosis eleven years ago. his numbers have been very high lately and of course i’m very scared for him. beyond the health issues the highs can cause we are fighting terribly. i’m an architecture student, so my stress levels have been high and i’m sure with the commencement of my classes he has become stressed as well. i’m looking for dinner kind of extra support and advice to help us cope and to help get his numbers under control. any help would be greatly appreciated

If he wants to fix the numbers, it's sort of his thing. It's great that you are helping him and an architectural/ math/ science background would probably be very helpful but, if my numbers are off, I bang away with more insulin. For a long time, I wasn't really organized about it and gained a lot of weight overshooting and eating to keep up but I'd rather do that than run high all the time. That's no fun. I think that he has to make changes. *peeks* if you are in Canada and he doesn't get a ton of support from his doc/ medical providers (or anywhere else, but I've noticed that Canada seems to pose challenges?), he should get on here and post some more specifics and people will probably help him.

I agree with AR. If he is consistently high lately than something in his management is not working or has changed and he needs to figure it out and compensate for it. You don't include any details and it wouldn't make a lot of sense to give you detailed answers anyway. What he needs to do is come on here himself and give some specifics so we can support him in making changes. But he has to want to do that. You can't do it for him. All you can do is be there for him and maybe all you can do right now is take care of yourself so he can do the same.