Perseverance Paper

I'm a freshman in college I have to write a paper on the definition of a word. Pretty much we pick a word and describe how our life could define that word. This is what I came up with. If you have any suggestions let me know. This isn't the final draft. It's the first time I've gotten to write about having diabetes for school and I'm pretty excitied about it. :))

Perseverance

Two thousand nine hundred and twenty is the number of times I will prick my finger this year. I have a lifelong disease, type I diabetes. It’s a twenty four hour seven days a week battle with food, exercise, and insulin. Diabetes never sleeps or takes a vacation. Every moment is planned and every carbohydrate counted. There is no cure, but I also have perseverance so I will live.

Every morning I wake up roll over, and check my blood sugar. I check my sugar six to eight times a day. Three times a week I change my infusion site for my insulin pump. Every three months I have to get my blood drawn and have a check up with my endocrinologist. Some days are better than others, but every day is a battle. Perseverance is what I think of the days I want to give up. Some mornings I can barely get out of bed because my body desperately needs sugar. Other times I may feel nauseated and exhausted, all I need is insulin.

Type I diabetes is fatal unless treated with insulin. Type I is the result of an autoimmune disorder that destroys the beta cells in the pancreas that are needed to produce insulin. If not treated diabetes can do damage to the heart; blood vessels; eyes; kidneys; and nerves. My pancreas doesn’t work and nobody really understands why. For the rest of my life I will live with an artificial pancreas called an insulin pump that is attached to me by a tube. My artificial pancreas is named Forrest Pump and together we tackle diabetes.