Personal Narratives

Im a Student Occupational therapist and I would very much love to hear peoples personal experiences about how Diabetis affects you from a physical, social and emotional perspective. I look forward to hearing about your experiences, regards, Mandy

This is my personal narrative to get the ball rolling, although very limited as I am borderline diabetic which was recently diagnosed.

Social: Biggest difficulty for me now is finding the correct foods to buy/cook/eat. At first I was envious that my friends could eat what ever they wanted while I had to look at everything, I had to keep reminding myself (thats poison to you) which helped lol. I find Im constantly searching and looking for information on the right foods. I felt like I was missing out on ‘treats’ and hated having to say No Thank you to most things. br />

Emotional: My husband left me just after new year, just before I found out I was borderline diabetic so my emotions were running pretty high. I remember thinking ‘why me, why am I being punished?’ ‘what did I do wrong to deserve this’. I have now accepted my lifestyle change and I try hard not to worry about the future and concentrate on the positives of a healthy diet and exercise. I believe this experience will help me to grow strong. I do still feel alienated sometimes though, that people dont realise the seriousness or have much of an understanding of this condition.

Physical: Sugar highs: Can feel lethargic, exhausted, lack of energy, muscle fatigue, Thirsty, Cranky, irritable.

Anyone who would like to share their personal thoughts and experiences please feel free to comment, regards, Mandy :slight_smile:

Hello Many, and welcome to this wonderful site.