Predicting Postprandial BG in T1Ds

Hello community!

I was diagnosed with Type 1 about a year and a half ago. This means that I have only scratched the surface of things to know and understand about my body in comparison to some of the more experienced users on this forum. That is why I am using this as an outlet for discussion.

A little background about myself. I am a 25 year old electrical engineer working in the Molecular Imaging division of Siemens Healthineers (we all hate the new name). Basically we design PET scanners. I recently decided to continue my education by enrolling in an Online Masters of Computer Science program at Georgia Tech specializing in Machine Learning. The program is tailored to full time individuals who still want to further their education, and I think it is truly the first of its class.

I started learning about a technique called Multivariate Linear Regression in my program. It is basically like finding a line of best-fit for an X-Y scatter plot and then projecting both the independent variable and dependent variable into multiple dimensions.

For example, if you were to plot the price of a house vs. the size in square feet, you would likely see data points that generally trend upwards (price of house increases with the size in square feet). You could then find a linear equation that approximates the data and use it to predict the price of a house given just the size in square feet. This equation probably would not be very accurate, because the price of a house depends on more than just one factor. That is were multiple variable linear regression comes in. You could incorporate the year that the house was built, the number of bedrooms, the size of the lot, etc… to generate an equation with multiple predictor variables. Using this, you could better predict the price of a house given a set of known factors.