Question/ observation

I was reading fiction and i swear i want to smack the author. anyway i was reading it and out comes this part about how the main character finds out she has T1 because she starved herself. ok I may be wrong on this but WHAT?! are you kidding me? Yeah i’ve heard of rare birth defects causing it, but starvation? is that even possible?

It does sounds terribly misinformed.

I hate that! If I find something out that is just plain incorrect, I kind of lose interest in the book. I much prefer an author that did some research over one that did not.

I am not an expert, but I have never heard that. Starvation? I would think we would have a much higher percentage of T1’s in third world countries if that was the case (and some parts of the US also).

Im not an expert too but I think the information is incorrect and absurd. Only proves that still up to this “high-tech” time…education is very important.

Melissa - I think the author may have gotten mixed up about how to use the word “starvation”. People become diabetic because their pancreas isn’t making enough juice (insulin), or their the cells in the muscles, etc. aren’t able to use the insulin properly or both combined. So, then the starvation bit comes into play - which is maybe what the author of your book got confused with. Because when the glucose in your blood starts to rise - then the cells are starved of energy.

I had the same thought: the author mixed things up. People are losing weight when their insulin production breaks down. So T1 leads to a phase of starvation - not the other way around.

Starvation even though you are eating as much or more than normal.