Should have paid attention

I’ve been hanging around this place for seven years now and I have always skipped through the topics on CGM’s. I didn’t have one and had no interest in one, but that has changed. Today I went to the doctor and she almost insisted that I start with a Libre system., she even gave me a reader and one sample sensor.

I am flying blind with this thing and have questions, I will keep it simple to start with. How do you keep it from falling off. I work outside in the heat and I am afraid that sweat will cause it to loosen. I know that there are skin preps one can use but which are the best.

Also I am a hairy man I suppose I must shave the application site like I do for my infusion sites.

Any practical experience for keeping my first sensor in place for ten days will be greatly appreciated.

6 Likes

Be careful, Gary. Once you get hooked on watching your realtime blood glucose, it can be a difficult habit to break! :wink: I think these devices are one of the best educational tools to teach you about you. That’s if you want to pay attention, of course.

I recommend that you use hot water, soap, and a wash rag to thoroughly clean and scrub the prospective site. When you dry with a clean dry towel, slightly abrade your skin. Not to overdo it, just turn the skin slightly red.

I would then apply the Libre per directions and maybe paint some liquid Skin-Tac over the top and around the edges of the fabric bandage. If you use Skin-Tac, just don’t aggressively move or stretch the underlying skin while it dries.

There are many different over-taping techniques, and I’ve read many comments, but have not tried any of them. If you do a search LIbre flash glucose monitor and over-taping, I think you’ll be inundated with ideas.

I just read a long (read dozens of replies) on a Facebook group about this topic. Good luck!

Here’s one of dozens of threads here that explore getting devices to stick and stay:

4 Likes

Here is link to a good information.