Shutting off your G6 CGM on a t-slim due to compression lows?

I’ve been using Dexcoms since 2012 and love them, but always suffer compression lows.
I always had to turn off my low alert at night (so that it would only wake me up at below 55) and even with that: the first night of a new sensor it often thinks I’m dying and that I’m am below 45 or it’ll just say LOW!

My solution for those first nights, was to go to bed with higher sugars than normal… and worst-case: I’d turn off my G6 receiver.

I recently switched from a Medtronic 530 to a t-slim X2 and have been loving it! Since my first night on it in July, my sugars have been perfectly flat at night every single night :slight_smile:

However, on my last sensor, I had a really bad Dexcom compression low and I couldn’t turn off my receiver because it’s now part of my pump!

Has anyone else ran into this?

I don’t want to shut off my pump (and even when I do for showering, it beeps like mad over and over again!)
I don’t want to put in another sensor, because after that first night it worked fine… and lasted the full 10 days.

Thanks for any advice!

1 Like

2 suggestions:
Put your pump in a faraday bag (check Amazon). This blocks data from transmitter to pump.

Or
Go into pump menu for cgm settings. Change one digit of transmitter id and save.

But you will likely still get alarms but not sure how often. Faraday bag may soften the sound.

1 Like

If you mean compression from sleeping on your sensor maybe you can put it in a different place. Mine goes behind my arm in triceps area so there is no compression of it when I sleep
I’m sure you can find a spot that doesn’t get compressed.

Oh and my nights are flat too. Really good and my dawn effect is also completely gone.
I play with settings so I can get into the mid 90s with no fear of going low.

There’s really only one CGM alarm you can’t avoid, the one that goes off if your CGM reads 55 or below. Mines on vibrate, though.