So I am new to this

I am in the process of removing all grains and most dairy. I am not a crazy Paleo person by any means. I am reading Dr Bernstein and another book called Eat to Live. I think that this may work as a better management technique for me. I currently am jumping into this on an omnipod, with an A1C of 7, a daily carb consumption targeted at around 120 carbs a day by my endo. I am dialing that down to 30-50 targeted with those carbs being veggie based. I am day 3 doing this. First off I am crazy hungry!!! I have NOT decreased my caloric intake at all so that is confusing the heck out of me!!! However my sugar which usually runs around 100-120 all the time has dropped right out the gate to 85-95 all the time. But I am throwing trace keytones? Is this normal? Sorry for the big massive post but very low carb is very new to me.

woops not to say Paleos are crazy but they are REALLY REALLY REALLY into doing Paleo (not to offend if anyone is doing Paleo succesfully)

Releasing ketones (especially right after starting a low carb diet) is normal. This is a process called ketosis or your body is digesting fats and one of the biproducts is a small amount of ketones. If your BG is in normal range than this is not a sign of DKA and you should have nothing to worry about. Sounds like your new diet is doing wonders for your BGs! Congrats.