Sport nutrition and diabetes

Hey all - It’s a long time since I’ve been up and commented. My son now 14 is extremely active in sport. He participate in spoert nearly everyday of the week. This year he also started playing rugby - the american equivalent regarding physical activity could be american foorball.

He is complaining of being tired all the time - goes to bed at 7:30pm and I have trouble waking him up at 6 in the mornings. His BG’s are ok - a bit low some mornings - between 2 and 4mmol. His energy doesn’t last during rugby practice - not his BG’s - I feel it could have something to do with nutrition… Please help with your view and suggestions…

Hi Riette, I’m also really active mist days of the week, playing squash or resistence exercises. Most important thing - test! I’m no doctor so what works for me might not work for him…

Always make sure I have something in my tummy, and insulin “on-board”. I check 15 min before my session starts. I have found that about 400ml apple juice diluted with about 100ml water works well for me. Then I drink half before my game and half during my game.

So, check 15 min before. If high, I pump correction bolus, and drink half my juice. If “normal” (5.6-7.5) I just drink juice. If I’m low, depending on insulin on board, I might have a glucose sweet (Fizzer) and my juice always.

I have found that sustains me pretty well, and ALWAYS eat something high in carbs and protein but low in fat. I am trying a whet protein shake at the moment, with a sandwich normally, which has seeme ld to perevent me going low while my muscles replenish their glycogen resources.

Trial and error is unfortunately the only way you’ll get it right!

Good luck!