Started new unusal part-time job: What should (or shouldn't) I tell them at work?

OK, so I’m an architect, but the construction economy in MIchigan ( as well as most places) stinks several of my projects have been delayed, AGAIN, ( I’m self employed) and cash is a bit tighter than comfortable. So I landed a part-time job at a “Large National Home Improvement Retailer” (you guess which one) as an associate in Lumber and Building Materials,about 20 to 35 hours a week. I help customers find product, operate the panel and radial arm saws to cut up lumber and plywood, do heavy lifting, will be trained to drive the lift trucks, etc., etc. So they really like me, are pleasantly surprised at how much I know about building materials (DUH!)

Do please note that I am female 5’2" and 115 lbs (much stronger than I look) and the only woman working in this department, and circumspectly trying NOT to be the smartest person in the room with my higher seniority coworkers…

But I haven’t told them that I am a Type 2/1.5 diabetic (no meds, just diet and excercise) I eat my meals/ snacks as close to schedule as my scheduled breaks and lunches allow and test in the rest room before and after lunch. I am usually in really tight control (5.6 A1C) and my snacks and meals are contolled for carb count and protein balance.

But I worry about any accident or injury (I mean worse than a big splinter or minor cut or having a customer drop a piece of plywood on my foot, all of which have happen so far). I carry around written instructions about hopsital treatment in my wallet.

I was afraid if I said anything upfront, which I am NOT obligated to do by law, they wouldn’t hire me or would stick me in some other “less demanding” department. I REALLY like this department.