Starting a running plan

I used to be a runner. In high school and college I ran track and cross country. Until a few years ago I ran with my dog. Then I developed back problems and had to stop, so I took to biking to and from work, which was eight miles each way.

For the last year and a half I have been a psychiatry resident with a two hour each way commute to work. I work about 60 hours a week. I gave up the biking at about the same time as I started on insulin--and I gained 25 lbs.

This year it is my new year resolution to get control of my health before it kills me. I let my husband know how horrible my control has been so he could start nagging, and am trying to cooperate fully--taking my endocrinologist's advice to get a pump, getting all appropriate testing done, carefully counting every carb that goes in my mouth, etc.

I am going for EMGs on April 17th to rule out other causes, since my position sense and balance are evidently worse than my endo would expect,

So far in the last month I have lost about 5 of the pounds, and my control is way better. I have high hopes that my next A1C (May 4) will be good. I also want to start running again, so I spent the last month walking a half hour twice a day with the goal to start running April 1st.

I think I am ready, grom a cardiovascular standpoint, but there are some issues. I have pretty nasty neuropathy with bad position sense, so I am afraid I'll fall. I do think that runninng will help with blood flow to my feet, so if I can stay upright it has to be a good thing.

I also need to figure out how it is going to affect my glucose. I think at the beginning probably not much, because I will be running a little and walking a lot, but any advice is appreciated. Good wishes also appreciated. Or you can say I'm stupid to try this--but I am tired of not being able to do the things I want because of this disease and I want to try.

You are not stupid at all, I think you are to be applauded!