Stupid Question

If I was to marry my boyfriend, who has fantastic insurance, would I be covered under his policy immediately after our marriage for diabetes related care? It’s something we’ve been toying with…

No. I’m one of those fortunate people without any coverage. I’m a full time doctorate student that doesn’t work.

As soon as your intended husband puts you on his policy
you should be covered. There might be a waiting period but
probably not. He will most likely have to upgrade his policy to a family plan.
Congratulations !

8 years ago, for me, YES, this was how it worked, I was covered 100% from day one because there was no application process involved, my name was simply added as a dependent. However, some group plans can reserve the right to impose a pre-existing limitation for up to 12-18 months if you have not had previous continuous coverage, depending on the plan. They cannot deny you coverage entirely though… so anything non-d related would still be covered.

It’s best to talk to HR or whoever handles the benefits where your boyfriend works to find out this information - they should be willing to provide it without much trouble. Also ask if they offer domestic partner coverage - you could (legally) get coverage without having to get married if they offer that… so if you live together that could be an option :slight_smile:

I was actually covered as a domestic partner for over a year before my husband and I were married.

Yeah well we haven’t decided yet. I’m not exactly fond of the idea of being married. I know, not what you expect from a girl… but I’ve always said I’d never get married…

didn’t know that about the domestic partner! Yes, we live together… hmmm… maybe I won’t have to marry him after all… don’t get me wrong, I love him, but i’m not into the whole marriage thing…

Yeah, that’s a smart thing to do.
Marry him for his insurance.
Make sure he has a good life insurance policy too, ya never know.