Sugar high! WHY?

today i made mistake and knocked my pod off and i didn’t have time to put new one on and was in a rush.
2 hrs when i got home my sugar was almost 400, but i hadn’t ate anything at all no sweet, no meat, no carbs, nothing but before i left home my sugar was 125, so why did it go up and go up so much. i would have thought it would have gone down coz i was out walking and climb stairs and all.
Please advise, I am confused about this

If it was 125, was it a stable 125 or was whatever you ate before still ‘on board’? I’ve also noticed that when I forget to turn my pump on for whatever reason, even a 20-30 minutes of no basal will get my BG going up so 2 hours to 400 wouldn’t suprise me that much, particularly if the 125 included some food that was lurking around?

I’m not an expert, but I’m under the impression that pumps work by recommending doses of short-acting insulin at regular intervals and that you are not on a basal insulin when you are on a pump. So you are “going without insulin” if your pod falls out, in a way that you would NOT be “going without insulin” if you were on MDI and took long-acting but just didn’t eat for a while.

Anyone who actually takes insulin, feel free to tell me to get stuffed, but that’s my understanding.

Sounds like you had a stressful couple of hours. Stress could spike your BG into the 400s, especially with no basal working for you.