T Slim Tubing Question

Hi Everyone,

I started training on my T Slim yesterday and my trainer mentioned never to disconnect the tubing from the lock end as the insulin in the tubing could then be infused and overdose you. She said to always disconnect first from the inset. It seems straightforward but there are situations where this could happen which is worrisome.

I'm wondering this:

1- how much insulin is in the tubing at any given time?
2- how quickly could it be dosed if this were to happen?

I assume it's possible for this to happen:

1- by accident if you forget
2- by accident while you are sleeping or if the tubing/pump gets caught on something
3- by accident if you have an accident such as a car accident

In which case you not know it had happened and you may not be able to do anything about it possibly even if you did.

This doesn't seem very safe to me for this to be able to happen at all.

Were you all told the same thing when you trained?

The same thing can happen with any insulin pump that there is if damage occurs to the line. The amount of insulin in line will vary by how long line is and where the damage occurs.
Had my new kitten chew through the line about 8 inches from site. Was lucky did not go low and also that hindsight it before going high from no delivery later.
Disconnecting at the leur hub and then trying to reconnect will cause bubbles in line so be aware of than. Can happen if hub is not fully tightened.
As for my training there was no mention of this at all.

The lock does not come undone by itself. And there is no reason for you to ever unlock it. Just remove the tubing from your Inset insertion site if you need to disconnect.

If for some unknown reason the lock comes undone, I would just start a new cartridge and infusion set from scratch.