Testing While Riding?

Anyone out there test and bolus while they riding? My pump is on a fuel belt that I wear, and I was thinking about trying to attach my One Touch ultra mini to the top tube, but not sure if it’s safe or a good idea. I’m pretty new to riding…got a used road bike a couple months ago, and just did my 2nd sprint tri on it. If any of you are doing this, I’d love to hear specifically how. Or feel free to tell me I’m a doofus for even thinking about it :).

I’ve always thought about it but never done it. I was always too afraid that I would drop things, and would hate to cause a crash or get my meter run over. In group rides, I would just ride ahead at a convenient stretch, stop and test quickly, and join the group again. For races, they were always short enough that I could do without testing (usually no more than 1 hour). I would try to test 3, 2, and 1 hours before a ride to get a good trend, and only make minor adjustments to make sure I’m level or slightly going up anticipating the exercise.

I’ve had the Dexcom for a little over a year now, and it was a a game changer for me while cycling. I don’t have to test while riding at all, even at stops. For racing, I just set the vibrations on with tight limits (maybe 100 as the low, 140 as the high) and without needing to look at the receiver I know whether I should drink more juice or water or grab a clif bar.

Thanks Andy! That’s great that your Dexcom has been such a big help. I have the minimed system and am thinking of firing up the CGM piece again. Took a long vacation from the CGM…got burned out on it’s “care and feeding” and flakiness and had a hard time keeping the transmitter attached because I was swimming more. But I ordered some mastisol and have some new sensors on the way, so we’ll see how it goes.