Thank You

Thank You

Last Thursday February 27, I was honored by the members of Tudiabetes with two best of awards. I was floored and I am still a bit overwhelmed about winning. The two awards were the most creative and the second was Tudiabetes Comedian of the year. I cannot decide which award I value more. I have never thought I was especially creative, and while I often think I am funny, I know most find my humor a bit dry for their taste. Anyway, I do love both awards and all I can say to all of you how eternally grateful I am.

I am told that the reason for my good fortune is my blogging over this past year. I am very flattered by that mostly because the reason why I decided to started and keep blogging is that I have never believed I write very well. Starting in Middle school I was told by those in charge that my writing was poor. In college, I struggled with writing, and as a professional I never trusted what I wrote to be good enough to pass muster. There is an old axiom in public administration that one need not know how to lay to asphalt to build a street. Instead it is better to hire those who do know how to build the street, in order to build it. The same was true of writing, as a professional I was able to hire people who wrote well to do my department’s important external writing. It was not ideal but it allowed me to avoid the most important writing for external purposes that I needed to be done.

When I started my Doctorate program the one serious reservation I had about completing the program was of course my ability to write at a high level. As classes progressed, I gained confidence, and by the end professors gave me their approval but almost always with the notation that my ideas were sound but my writing could be better. That of course reinforced my long held belief that my writing was substandard. While my dissertation was approved academic writing is different than writing for real people in the real world.