Thanks

Just wanted to thank everyone for allowing me to be a part of this community. I am new to this and still learning some of the functions of this site. I look forward to hearing all your stories and listening to some of your advice.

It's a great family and glad you joined us, Gio! I'd be worried if you said "listening to all of your advice"! Unlike egotistical doctors we all feel that here we can "take what we need and leave the rest". I am incredibly jealous of your planned teaching expedition to other parts of the world. What a great prospect to look forward to!

Well thank you for those kind words. I am a little nervous about going abroad but of course the unknown is always a little nerve racking. In reference to your doctor comment. I used to see an endo, a dietition and other doctors for my diabetes. I felt like they just kept pushing new products on me and felt it was a waste of time. I started to see my normal physician for all my needs and he gives me a lot of freedom to control my diabetes. How is your experience with endocrynologiy?

My experience is similar to yours. I'm just used to managing my diabetes myself. I know there are many people on here that have an endo they love, but there are also many doctors endos, cde's and dietitians who are stuck in the ADA dark ages and know far less than most of us on here. My doctor just writes my prescriptions and is there to deal with any non-related medical problems and that's how I like it.

Traveling will change your life - I know it changed mine!

Hell0 gio! ive been out of the country (and teaching) for thirteen years. i was diagnosed here in spain, learned lots of my diabetes related language in spanish first! where are you heading in January? keep us updated on your teaching/travel adventures!
This site has been vital in helping me to learn about managing my diabetes care. Glad you´re here!