Thigh site problems

When I started using my insulin pump, I stuck to midriff area sites exclusively and it was quite rare for me to have an issue with a site leaking or bleeding. I was advised to start rotating through more sites so I started using my upper thigh and have noticed a huge increase in the number of issues I’m having. On a regular basis, I am able to detect small amounts of blood through the clear window on the site itself. I am also noticing that those sites are way more likely to leak.

Leaks scare me. I’m never sure how to deal with it when I’ve noticed that some of the insulin hasn’t been delivered. I usually end up waiting to see how my BG levels do and adjusting from there but it often leads to some instability and spiking.

Have other people noticed this and what, if anything, can be done to avoid the problem? I work in IT and am often very active and mobile all day long - including frequently crawling under desks and lifting decent amounts of weight - is this what is causing the bleeding and leaking? Is there a “perfect” infusion site that people tend to favour over others?

Perfect infusion set - not really. If you use IV3000 dressings over your insertion set, try taking a piece of the tape off of the IV3000 backing paper and put it at the disconnect part of the set to keep the tubing from stressing the adhesive and allowing the adhesive disk to lift.

I just had a site failure and my BGs went over 400 before coming back down. So this was my fix to keep the set in place.

Blood in the window - I have seen it when I nick a large capillary near the surface. Watch BGs closely for the next 6 hours. If BG is OK then cannula is in place, if BG is even slightly higher “TREND-WISE” triple check the site. Be ready to change it because it may be flawed.

Jay