Tips, Tricks, Advice for new Dexcom out of the box

Hey everyone, I am expecting my Dexcom to be at the house. I am new to this whole diabetes thing, so obviously I am new to any idea of CGM’s. I am sure there are multiple tips out there, but on the recent discussions I didn’t see one where people just put their tips, tricks, and just general advice that you may, or may not find from a trainer, instructional book or video, etc.

I would love to hear some emphasis on conventional what to do, what NOT to do, and maybe even some unconventional things that you vets out there have discovered works best for you.

Things I am interested in are:

1. Site placement for various activities (sports, intimacy, etc.)

2. Actual length it is safe to wear (not FDA rules.)

3. Different skin preps, what works, what doesn’t.

4. Different things to know about working with the software, (I have a mac, will do some research on Parallels, and maybe some free ones like Wine) but I may just resort to using my wife’s old work laptop.

5. Receiver tips: I ordered a strap from toosweetboutique.com, and it looks awesome. Has a clear window so I can check it while working out or running. She made it custom using material that is very water resistant. I doubt I will use the receiver while playing football, but can I leave it on the sideline and between drives go over and let it pick up the transmitter?

Since I am new I probably don’t even know the right questions to ask, so please help me out so that I don’t open that box completely blind. Thanks in advance, this community has been so awesome. You have definitely been a blessing!

Ben

Congrats on the DexCom. You will love it... I know I do.

1) If you have someone that can help you with the insertion, I think the back of the upper arm is the best place for the site. I completely forget that it's there.

2) I wear mine until the tape gives up. I can usually make it close to 14 days. Sometimes more.

I'll let other respond to the rest. Enjoy!