This is my first blog post here at Tudiabetes.com.

For the last few months, I’ve been fortunate to enjoy the assistance of a close friend in complying with the daily drudgery of monitoring my sugar levels. He lives in California, I in Illinois and at least a couple of times a day he BlackBerry messages and tells me to check my blood sugar or message back where I am.

Yes, I see some of you there in the back row smirking and raising your eyebrows. Lol. Perhaps not everyone would want or need this type of encouragement.

But right now, I do. Until a few years ago, I was fairly hypervigilant about staying on top of things all by myself, thank you very much. I was a competent professional with plenty of via and vigor and stick-to-it iveness. But things happen. I’m currently dealing with a run of serious depression and post-traumatic stress disorder in addition to the diabetes. I am singularly preoccupied. The simple (can we call it simple?) task of monitoring my own blood sugar has become much more challenging.

All to say, I am thankful for the assistance.

But that’s all context. I really just wanted to share my response to what he asked a few minutes ago after I had messaged letting him know my sugar was 159.

He wrote,

“Slightly high but believe it’s in a normal range for u or am I wrong?”

And this was my rather long winded response:

"Yes. Thanks for asking. It’s a little above 80-115 where I’d personally like it to be. (my endo prefers I shoot a bit higher to avoid lows… ) The word “test” is intimidating… like one is just always taking an exam. I think that’s one factor leading to diabetics’ reluctance to consistently test sugars. It’s a constant reminder of our imperfection and mortality.