Type 1 Newbie

Hi everyone! I'm new here to the site and also to the world of diabetes, so I thought I'd introduce myself and say hello. My name is Leah, I'm 28 and from Australia.

I was diagnosed just over a week ago with Type 1 diabetes after suffering the classic symptoms for around 3 weeks...you know - the increased thirst, waking up all night to go to the toilet, blurred vision and weightloss.

I finally went to the doctor and told her my symptoms and she instantly said you have diabetes, let me check your glucose. My glucose was 22mmol/L (? 396mg/dl) at around 11 am after having nothing that day but a coffee a couple of hrs earlier, I also had ketones in my urine...so it was off to the hospital for me!

My A1C was just under 10 and I was commenced on Lantus each night and Novorapid with meals.

I'm a student nurse so I guess I should have picked up on the symptoms earlier...the thought had crossed my mind but I was most likely in denial.

In one way being a student nurse worked out ok, I was used to the 'jabs' although I'm usually giving them not getting them and also had a bit of understanding about diabetes (although I have now realised how little we are taught!). Anyway they seemed to think I knew what I was doing so I had a relatively short hospital stay. Unfortunately I feel like I have been left to 'fend' for myself as I 'should' know what to do as i'm a student nurse.

I'm glad to have found this great site, it's answered lots of my questions! If anyone has any tips for a newly diagnosed diabetic trying to get used to a new world of poking holes in herself and all the rest that comes along with it I'd be very grateful.

Hi Leah,

First, great profile pic – very silent movie era! Second, wonderful that you are studying to become a nurse, we can never have enough great nurses.