Type 1 writer looking for individuals involved in DCCT data collection

Hi, all ~

I’m beginning work on my third novel (first one came out in '06; second is in the late editing stage), in which I’m finally going to take advantage of my first-hand knowledge of Type 1 diabetes. I have a character who, if the plot-line works, is going to be involved somehow with data collecting/compiling for the Diabetes Control and Complications Trial (he’s not a doctor but has a science/math degree — his specific function in the trial to be determined after I’ve learned more). I have no direct experience with the DCCT — it had been going for a few years when I was first diagnosed in '87 — so I’m looking for any information that any of you (Trial staff or former participants) may have.

I’m not, of course, looking for confidential information about patients — more just procedural details (what sort of information was collected … in what ways was the data collected/stored/reported to overseeing doctors/analyzed? etc.) — but if you’d prefer to keep your comments confidential, a private message, either to my “Tu” inbox or to hburt@telus.net, would be great.

I should also mention that I’m not aiming to represent all people with diabetes in this project. It’s not so much a novel about diabetes as it is a novel about other, more abstract things that happens to have a couple of characters with diabetes!

Thanks!

Heather Burt

Wow, Heather! What a great idea! I wish I could help you with this project, but I was not diagnosed until March 1993, just 6 months before the DCCT came out. I hope you are able to find the perspectives you are looking for and I hope the best for your novel!

I was/am one of those NOT invited to join …I can’t recall, were there only 1044 participants ?? I was thinking, if you googled some of your answers maybe met ??
I hope for you , that you will do as well as with Novel( number 1 ???) : Adam’s Peak .
All the Best to our BC, Canada writer :slight_smile: