Vocal Technique and Diabetes

For all those vocalists/opera singers/singers/musical theatre people:

I have been having trouble singing at different blood sugar levels, and I find when I sing using the same technique, I am singing three mildly different sounds (hypo-, normal and hyper-), and find myself trying to manufacture my “ideal” sound.

Any one have suggestions on how to fix this or explain this to me?

refresh to main page :smiley:

Hi Thomas,

I don’t have D (my son does), but I AM a voice teacher. I have a couple of thoughts for you:

1. Could the “hyper” sound be related to dehydration?
  2. When you’re low, remember that your body is working pretty hard for basic brain function, let alone highly coordinated manipulations of your vocal folds. Think about it – your limbs get jerky, why wouldn’t your larynx/soft palate/tongue, etc.
  3. Could your perception of the hyper/hypo/normal sound be explained by neuropathy? Have you recorded yourself in all three states and compared your sound, or are you going off of physical sensation alone?

I can’t say that I have much in the way of a fix for you, but would be happy to brainstorm with you further.

I have recorded myself and, to my ear, hyper is essentially dry, hypo has the tendency to slur diction, making my german absolutely disastrous, and normally, a good whole natural tone.

I’ve been having trouble trying to overcome the “jerkyness” off my larynx; one of my biggest problems is laringetal pressure when singing, so this only complicates it. Any suggestions?

Hmmm, again, I can’t really speak to the hyper/hypo/normal aspect, but it sounds to me like you’re trying to bear down too much when you’re singing – I’d bet anything that you’re overbreathing in general. Excess breath pressure can cause tightness throughout the entire rib cage, and can even mess with your shoulder girdle, where the muscle that controls your tongue is anchored.

A few things to try: