Walking 3-5 miles with neuropathy

does anyone know if long distance walking is bad for your neuropathy, when i’m done it acts up but it doesn’t bother me that much during the walk. am i making things worse or should i just use my elliptical machine. thank you for the advice in advance

I am a long-term type I diabetic with long-standing mild neuropathy. I have been walking 3-5 miles per day for the last three years and have not suffered any ill-effects to my neuropathy. I benefitted tremendously with better blood sugar numbers from walking. I get especially good results with my BGs when I walk following a meal.[quote=“Mikael, post:1, topic:61421”]
when i’m done it acts up but it doesn’t bother me that much during the walk.
[/quote]

Have you raised this point with your doctor?

Hi Terry does your neuropathy act up after you finish walking? Mine does , i enjoy my walks so i would miss them, i also love hiking so I don’t want to give it up. So i wouldnt be causing more damage on my nerves?
Mikael

No, my neuropathy does not act up when I finish walking. My neuropathy has been relatively mild. I have aches in the bottom of my feet, not too intense but I know it’s there. My neuropathy was worse before 2012 when I had worse control of my blood sugar levels. I also had a loss of some sensation in my hands and arms covering me up to my elbow like a strange glove.

Maybe there are some meds that could help you. I’ve not tried any of them but I’ve seen them mentioned by other members. (I see you’ve talked about this issue in another thread.)

I think as long as you can walk and not hurt yourself losing your balance or other mechanical problem, then you’re likely OK to do it. Do you still have “protective sensation” in your feet? If you get a little piece of gravel in your shoe, will you know it’s there before it does too much damage?

I think nerves like the extra blood circulation that exercise brings but they definitely don’t like high blood glucose.