What kind of geek are you?

Geeks come in many different distributions…

I’m a primarily a UNIX, PHP, Javascript, with a bunch of other stuff thrown in (ruby, perl, python, yadda, yadda, yadda)

What makes you tick?

Dang, I feel so unqualified to be in this club! I built my own business site and can muddle through html and css sort of okay, but nothing like any of that ;). I like the design side of things best. I’m hoping some real geekiness will rub off on me and make this stuff easier!

Oh no, a geek is not determined by skill level. Heck I know TONS of people who are much more technical than me. Its only qualification is interest. We’re all here to learn from each other. I bet you can teach me a thing or two ( or fifty) about HTML and CSS.

I used to be a UNIX admin in a previous life (FreeBSD baby!). Now that I have kids, and a different job, I don’t mess around with much of it anymore.

Besides, I was more of a wannabe UNIX admin. It was the really smart geeks in the group really ran the show. :slight_smile:

What do you do now?

I worked for a number of years in a research lab (Sarnoff) where I did some minor work with a team of very smart PhD types developing the first MPEG-4 codec (the last time I ever really used my engineering degree). I was seduced by the dark side of the force (web application development) in the 90s and and switched to developing LAMP (Linux, Apache, MySQL, Perl) based web sites and applications for financial and pharmaceutical firms. I spend most of my free time researching new programming and security technologies. At work I am a heavy Linux user but at home I have found myself spending a lot of my time on OS X, AJAX and PHP.

sweet! we should combine all of our skills and do something cool.