When in doubt..Alarms

Hi

I am new to the pump group. Despite being a nurse I feel overwhelmed by all the information. I have gone to a few insulin pump classes as figured that this would be my best option if working in the ICU setting, unless the alarms will be set off by electromagnetic waves from all the high level equipment ?? Not sure if this will be an issue.

But dont understand why my CDE keeps saying " when in doubt , take it out ". Are pump failures common ? What about occlusion of the infusion set ? Am thin as a rail and somewhat needle-phobic ( not when giving shots to other people..)

Is the rate of infusion set occlusion HIGH ? And what contributes to it ?

Does everyone here follow the same mantra of "If in doubt , take it out ?"

Ai YI YI

overwhelmed...

becca

I am fairly new to the pump too. My CDE also subscribed to that mantra. I have found that either an infusion set works well from the start, or it obviously does not (as evidenced by a bolus squirting onto me, rather than into me). My biggest challenge has been insertion, and getting the correct angle (I use the angled ones, not the straight in ones, due to my lack of flab.) I wasted a bunch, due to that.

Over time, you will get more confident and comfortable.

Yes, if I doubt that my pump or my insulin is working, I change it (I am on the Omnipod,) but no, it doesn't happen often.

Don't be overwhelmed....you'll get it.

Becca,