Where do I go from here?

I just need to vent a little… I just came back from my primary care physician. Before I spill out the results, you should know a few things. I get up at 5:30am three days a week and exercise for one hour. (Impressive, right) I get up at 6:30am on Saturdays and exercise for two hours. (Even more impressive, right?) I am a full-time student in college. I am taking 18 credits in course work. I am up late doing homework and I am not one of those college students that goes out drinking. I have had type 1 diabetes for 15 (yes, 15) years and I am on a pump. My a1c is wonderful. Today, my pcp told me I was fat. I tried to explain to her/him that I was gaining muscle from exercise. No luck. He/She said I need to watch my snacking. I do not snack. I do not “order out”, I do not eat bad things like most people my age do. I pass by a plethora of fast-food joints on my way to school – I do not stop. I am so dissapointed. I don’t know what more to do to loose weight. I work so hard, I don’t know where to go from here. Can I get an “amen”.

Seriously! Muscle weighs more than fat. You are healthy and smart and are doing all the right things… tell your pcp to bite me!
I find that sometimes… you just cant fix stupid!!! Keep doing what your doing! be well! xoxoxoxox

Thank you. Someone knows something in this world – that’s you.

Pcp’s aren’t as intelligent as Endos. Sounds like you need to change docs…I’m also a vet with 52 years.

I’m sorry for this. I’ve worked very hard to build muscle and be “lean.” Yet I get this all the time, simply because my BMI is in the overweight category. In the end, your doctor is your “advisor.” In some areas, they have competence to give you advice. In other areas, they don’t. Obviously, the don’t have competence to give you advice on whether you are fat. Believe in yourself. You won’t be wrong.

You deserve a pat on the back and a “Great Job”…tell your doctor we all said so!! Ignore it, continue on…you are doing great.