Wondering if anyone also has trouble with adrenalin and how to manage the highs from it

I am new to type one diagnosed 12/27/11 and am on Lantus and Humalog. I have been having trouble with lows post exercise and am wondering if that has made me hypersensitive. I get adrenalin highs really easily from situations that weren't that "stressful" before, i.e. traffic, carpooling, work, my kids fighting, etc. Do I just inject? Can my BG come down from my on board Lantus. I don't want to stack. Any advice would be helpful. Thanks!
Molly

Exercise, in general, will increase insulin sensitivity, both short term and long term.

I bolus for any unexpected highs. Unless you are experiencing the same highs at the same time of the day, i'm not sure how you would adjust your basal rate.

Hi Molly! I take Lantus and Humalog also. If your Lantus routine is set properly, you should wake up each morning within about 20 points of where you went to bed. If that part is working for you and you're trying to bring down situational highs from exercise or stress, then yes I would inject Humalog to correct...being careful not to stack insulin. Been there, done that, don't want to do it again.

Depending on how high I am and how close the next time I plan to eat is, I tend to wait 3 to 4 hours between injections of Humalog to avoid stacking. If you correct before that, be careful to consider how much Humalog you already have in your body.

You're newly diagnosed so I'm sure you're a bit overwhelmed with information overload, but I suggest two books, Think Like A Pancreas and Using Insulin, to get a better understanding of insulin on board and how to take that into consideration when you're doing corrections.

Oh and I get highs too from traffic, work, stressful conversations. I can watch the trend line on my Dexcom cgm go up during these times.