Yeah, I've got the Beets, so what?

Hi Everyone!

Although I’m new to this site, I’m not new to blogging. Blogging is a great outlet for me to express my feelings about diabetes, or as I like to call it, The Beets. Plus, I like to pretend that I’m a great writer and that millions of people will benefit from my sometimes sarcastic, maybe humorous ramblings. I hope you enjoy reading my stories and feel free to comment or contact me!

My name is Erin. I am 25 (almost 26, yikes!) years old. I’m a graphic designer, but I have so many dream jobs, I can’t even count them. I have a great family and enjoy spending time with them, all of them. I love traveling, television, and shopping. I like reading celebrity garbage, singing to my steering wheel, and stormy weather. I don’t like Cool Ranch Doritos, “angry music”, or cluttery messes . Oh yeah, and I have Diabetes.

I was diagnosed with Type 1 in 2006, right after I turned 21. It wasn’t really a huge shock to me. I’ve always been a hypochondriac… I thought for sure I had Diabetes in high school. So in the summer of 2006, when my mom mentioned I looked like I had been losing weight, I thought, well that can’t be right when my breakfast consisted of a McDonald’s #3, my lunch, an Applebee’s Fried Chicken Salad, and dinner, a burrito the size of my head from Qdoba. And somehow I managed to lose a pound a day. I was also going to the bathroom… a lot. I never had to get up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom, but I was getting up two or three times. And I was so thirsty! Drinking beverages like it was going out of style.