A question about basal rates

Hello,
I am new to the pump, and have only been on my Ping for about one week. Been type 1 for 12 years. So, my basal rates are pretty much the same 24 hrs a day, with the small exception of a .05 difference from 2am to 10am. I woke up at 7:30 am and my BS was 150. I check again when I get to work(9am), and its 215. I give a 2 unit correction. I did not eat anything at that point. I go to our cafeteria and get an english muffin (27g carbs) with an egg and a slice of cheese. I give 3 units for this, about 5 minutes prior to eating. This was at 9:30am. I check a few minutes ago and my BS is 243. I have 3.5 or so units on board, so I hesitate to give a correction. Given this info, what did I do wrong? What would you have done differently?

I think I might need to adjust my basal rates a bit, which is something I will discuss with my doc, but Im looking for insight. Things like this happen fairly regularly and its really frustrating…

Hi Chris,

Sounds like you need to adjust your basal rates. Kinks, occlusions, and various insulin delivery errors can cause your BG to rise rapidly, but given you’ve only been doing the pump thing for a week, my guess is your problem lies with your basal rate. You absolutely must get Pumping Insulin which explains anything and everything about pumping. If you’re lucky, your local library will have a copy on the shelf you can check out today. If not, here it is at Amazon.

As for basal testing, the goal of basal testing is to fast while regularly checking your blood glucose values (BGs) to observe how well you basal insulin keeps your BG level. Most people break the day into four manageable time segments, so that they only have to fast for a portion of the day: morning, afternoon, evening, overnight. During each episode of basal testing, you don’t eat anything or do any major exercise/activity (tends to lower BG values) while regularly checking your BG values.