Adjusting for intense exercise

I recently rejoined a weekly pickup basketball game and have had trouble keeping my BG high enough the past couple of weeks. Last week, I suspended basal about an hour before the game and ate a big bowl of cereal about 50 minutes prior to the game, blousing 10 units, which is about half of what I would normally bolus for that meal. My BG was about 130 and heading up when I started playing, but after the first game (usually play 3-4 games over the course of 90 minutes to two hours), my BG had dropped below 100 (I wear a Dexcom G5). I drank most of a bottle of Gatorade (32 grams of sugar) and ate several cookies. After the next game, I was down in the 80s. I popped a few sugar tabs, and after the final game, I was at 78 and decided I should probably not play another game. Soon after I quit exercising, my BG began to rise. I resumed my basal and my BG continued to rise, hitting close to 200 even after a couple of boluses of around 2 units each. I’m not sure what is happening here. Is it possible that my body is not processing the carbs once I begin the intense exercise, or am I just eating too soon before my workout? Should I suspend my basal earlier to get insulin out of my system sooner? I’m looking for some tips from those who might have figured this out already.

Yes, that is part of it. Your digestion will slow down a lot when you are exercising intensely.

The other part of what you are seeing is that you had a bunch of IOB during the games. The IOB from your meal bolus, plus the fact that your body is not processing the food as quickly means you see the drops during the game. Once you stop playing, all the carbs catch up with you, plus the fact that you have suspended your basal means you see a spike afterwards.

I’d suggest not having the meal so close to the game. Try to give it a few hours at least before you play. And then cut your basal a bit before and treat the dropping BG as needed.