Alcohol pads

my dr told me that every time i inject myself i should wipe my self with an alcohol pad couse if not it can cause infection did anyone here of this or had issues

I’ve been injecting insulin for 4 years, not once have I ever swabbed the area with an alcohol pad. I don’t swab before lancing my finger for a BG check either. I have never gotten an infection. Bernstein also doesn’t advocate using alcohol pads prior to lancing or injecting. If you are more comfortable and feel safer doing so, then you probably should. Your doctor is probably just “covering his posterior aspect” by recommending this.

1 Like

I wipe the insulin vial, but have never wiped the skin and have never had any problem. Alcohol cannot sterilize your skin; the best it can do is clean it. This is one bit of the traditional wisdom that simply isn’t worth torturing yourself about.

I have been injecting or inserting an infusion set for 40 years and have never swabbed with an alcohol pad. I do use one for my Dexcom sensor, but that is going to stay in situ for up to 3 weeks.

2 Likes

I always wipe the insulin pen top with an alcohol swab before attaching a fresh needle and wipe the skin before injecting. I don’t, however, wipe my finger with an alcohol swab before testing unless I’m testing in the car or elsewhere where it isn’t possible or convenient to wash my hands before testing.

I never do that. Only did that during the couple of days I had to stay in the hospital after my diagnosis.

I swabbed for many years – it was standard practice when I was diagnosed in 1970 – but stopped when I learned that swabbing before a fingerstick can dry out and toughen the skin, making lancet pokes (and injections) more painful. Later a friend who was a ballet dancer said she rubbed alcohol on her toes to toughen the skin. Many studies have shown that there is hardly any risk of infection if you don’t swab, though nurses and blood lab technicians continue to swab.

1 Like