Am I missing something?

People in medical device industry keep hiring me to do software testing, but then don’t let me see the code or do any software testing. I think this must be specific to medical device industry.

I feel bad taking their money because I’m not helping them test their software. Maybe someone can clarify. Maybe they don’t know that formal software testing exists. People in other industries do it.

Is this why medical devices suck so bad? I feel like it must be.

In my experience in an adjacent industry:

1: yes there are real software testers

2: the ratio of test writers and test result reviewers and project managers to actual testers, is about 5:1.

@mohe0001, I want your job. Getting paid for not do anything sounds sweet. I write software for a living and there is no doubt that FDA-approved medical software is the worst. I compare DIY Loop and GlucoGram to their commercial counterparts. There is no need to look at the source code. The difference at the user level is mind-boggling. Milk the cow as long as you can. Software testing is not the answer. Eliminating government overreach is needed. I am not against FDA issuing a stamp of approval. There should be no law prohibiting the use of devices or software without FDA stamp. We allow the sale of cigarettes which we know for sure is only bad. I am allowed to buy an assault rifle. It should be legal for me to use a device that keeps my blood sugar in normal range even if some bureaucrat does not understand how it works or has some other reasons to dislike it. I actually prefer not to pay for this bureaucrat who inflictits harm on me. Whoever is in favor of a FDA stamp should pay a little more for a device or software that has the stamp. I am sympathetic to that. Just allow me to have normal blood sugar to avoid more complications. It seems like a reasonable request that unfortunately is being denied. I blame the American justice system for that. The American attitude is that it is always somebody