An Essay

EVERYBODY HAS A STORY

By Patty Harmon

The setting sun was dancing on the dishwater, the detergent forming bubbles. In this perfection under the kitchen window, bloodclots gathered like storm clouds over purple seas. Tears splashed the waves.

I was going blind. As a teacher, I noticed parts of textbook letters disappearing. My head moved to accommodate vanishing punctuation. Curbs caused caution in my steps. Fear paralyzed me until this spring evening in my childhood home. I was twenty-four years old. I had other things to do.

Diabetes governed my life from the age of ten. I practiced hiding it. No one saw the injection-insertions. Doctors frightened me; Mother nagged. Approaches to disease were different in the fifties. I became a dramatic actress, forever pretending I felt fine. High school and college were superb stages for this suburban Jersey girl. Drugstore novels guided me into fantasies. I was the deserving princess, following women of my time into successful careers. Television and working women were new concepts as the sixties unfolded. I was a hippy-want-to-be, visualizing poetry readings in dark coffee houses. My curly hair never grew; my poetry was simple.

Following college, my parents believed in work. Teaching was temporary. The world awaited Patricia Ullmann. Blindness interrupted.

In spring of 1969, the dramatic role of my life commenced. I learned to smile rather than sob. Doctors sent me to Colorado Springs for experimental treatments. Alone and terrified, I stuck out my hand and grinned–often. Colorful clothes and puffy hairdos became absolutes. I must not be a wallflower at my life’s party. If I were going to walk with a long white cane, I must look damn good doing it!