Backpacking, Hiking with Type 1

Hey all,

I am going backpacking in Peru for 5 days and 4 nights (yay). I have never done this type of trip before. I am worried about how my blood sugar will react. And also just logistics of managing diabetes while on the trail. Anyone have experience handling their diabetes on trips like these? Tips you’d like to offer?

I have also heard that some meters don’t work at high altitudes. Does anyone have experience with this?

Thanks!

Hi Elizabeth - I did some hiking up in Mount Washington a few years ago - and managed to do alright with my BG’s. I did lower my basal rate in the morning - and checked my BG’s when I needed to. Bring high carb snacks/glucose/dextrosol (or whatever you now use to treat lows) and of course WATER. For me, not only exercising will reduce my need for insulin - but humid temperatures effect my BG’s abit (am thinking it might be humid in Peru ??). I also tend to give less fast acting insulin when I’m eating during days of hiking.

My meter (Freestyle) worked fine. I know that Sebastien Sasseville might be the one to ask about meter’s working - as he climbed up Mount Everest!

If you haven’t thought of this already - but keeping your insulin from not getting hot - consider looking at Frio. I have various versions of this - for insulin bottle, pen needles, and pump. They will keep your insulin at a good temperature.

Have a great trip!

Sounds like a lot of fun! I don’t know anything about the high altitude unfortunatley.

When I have taken hiking trips, I needed to reduce my insulin dramatically. It’s like constantly exercising all day and your body has a harder time dealing with the lows. So bring lots of fast-acting carbs (sport gels, cake icing).

Also, like Anna, I highly recommend a FRIO insulin pouch!! This keeps insulin cool and all you need is water to activate it. It’s reuseable and WONDERFUL!