Basal or I:C which is the culprit?

Looking for opinions/suggestions on what try adjusting:

My daughter eats breakfast around 7am-7:15am. Lately her bg between 9-9:30 is within 20-30 of her prebreakfast bg, but by 10:00am she goes up 40-80 and then we end up correcting at her bg snack at 10:00. I'm afraid if I adjust her I:C at breakfast she'll have a low between 9:00-9:30. Does it seem appropriate to try increasing the 8am basal rate a smidge? Is this Dawn Phenomenon or would that be much earlier in the morning? Thanks!!!

Current settings:
BASALS:
6am - .25
8am - .30
3pm - .25

I:C
6am 1:20
9:30am 1:45

Yes, I would definitely try increasing the 8AM basal a step. I'm not an expert on DP since I don't have it, but I think that is when you wake up high and then continue to rise if you don't eat.

The only thing I would suggest is change one variable at a time.
Try it a few times to get to a solid consistent number.

but i would definitely tweak the basal.
good luck!

I had a similar issue of my BG spiking more than 2 hours after eating breakfast. I needed to increase the basal a little, but what made the biggest difference was changing what I ate first thing in the morning.

I changed from eating cold cereal every morning to a boiled egg and wholewheat toast and never again suffered spiking BG's after breakfast. My nutritionist suggested the change, and I'm glad she did.

Seems reasonable.

You could choose a day when her BG is good at 7-7:15 and skip breakfest. Then see what it does until 10a when she would normally eat a snack. If it goes up, it's a basal adjustment. If it holds steady, it's a morning I:C ratio. (These are easiest to see if you have a CGM.) If you are concerned that bumping I:C could cause a low, you could do a "square wave" or "combo bolus" where some portion of insulin delayed.

You also might consider whether the delayed rise by 10a could be due to diet. Has she been eating more protein/fat at breakfest, for instance?