Blocked Infusion Set

My son, Dylan, is 4 years old. He started pumping on February 13, 2010. He uses the Animas Inset 90 6 mm. His infusion sets are lasting 48 hours at the most. On Sunday, only 1 day into that infusion set, he spiked to 440 with moderated ketones. So, we switched out the infusion set and everything went back to normal. Today is Tuesday and he spiked again around 2 am. He was 264 and I gave him a correction. By 7 am, he was 289 with small ketones. I assumed the infusion set had gone bad again (only about 36 hours into this one). When I removed the old infusion site, I could see that the cannula was clogged with insulin crystals. I've been pumping for 8 or 9 years and have never seen this on myself.

Does anyone know why this would happen? Is this insulin bad? Should I consider changing infusion sets for him?

I’m not sure Roxanne - I would call Animas and ask them for advice as well but I would also call your son’s Endo.

My son is also 4-years-old and we use the Inset 30’s (angled instead of straight). He’s been pumping since July 2009 (when he was 3). We’ve found that the sets last longer when put into deep enough fatty tissue and MUCH shorter if too near muscle or an area that has a lot of skin movement… because of this Tyler can only take sets on his butt right now and only in the fattier parts… we try to avoid putting it directly on the area where he sits and we also try to avoid getting too near the edge… that leaves about 3-4 square inches on each cheek that we can carefully cycle through and rotate.

As he grows I know we’ll have more areas we can use - but for now that’s it.

We typically and regularly get 3 full days (72 hours) out of a set with Ty… and he’s a rough and tumble boy all the way. Sometimes only 2 days… but that’s rare.

I’ve never experienced the “crystalizing” that you speak-of… we use only Novolog as that’s what our insurance covers but we have used Humalog in the beginning and that seemed fine as well.