Come on, peeps... let's get to conversing!

Okay, so we’ve got this group… and it’s not being used. I know I’m not the only 1.5 on the forums… so, let’s discuss.

How’s your management going? Do you have an Endo? How are your A1c’s looking of late? What other medical problems have reared their ugly heads since your diagnosis? What else can you think of to discuss as part of this thread?

My name is Darian. I’m a 34 year-old cop in Southwest Missouri. I was diagnosed as a Type 1 LADA (type 1.5 here) on January 28, 2008… just 5 short months ago. In that time, I’ve taken absolute control of my health care… sans the insurance part… I’m kind of in a patients hell with that. My copay is too high, else I’d be on the pump (my cost would be $2000 just to start).

I have an Endo. In fact, I had to ask for an Endo after having lived with an improper diagnosis as a Type 2 for a bit over a month. Originally my PCP (primary care physician) was going to treat me herself. I was okay with that, until I was maxed out at 2000 mg of metformin in 3 weeks, and still having my numbers climbing.

I’m on Lantus and NovoLog now for my diabetes care. I may switch to Levemir in the next month, so that I can get tighter control on my basal care. I’ve also been diagnosed with Hashimoto’s thyroiditis (Hypothyroidism), and am now taking 50 mcg of Levothyroxine a day. I just started on Simvastatin for cholesterol care as well, on top of my daily 81 mg aspirin and a host of vitimans and suppliments.

I’m generally healthy, other than those two diseases. I quit smoking a few days over six months ago… and I feel great in that regard. Unfortunately, I’ve gained 60 pounds since I quit smoking and started on insulin. Well, I should say 55 pounds, as I’ve already lost 5 pounds of it in the past month. :slight_smile: