Correction Bolus

I am new to MDI of insulin. My doctor gave me the brief explanation of when to inject before meals and what insulin/carb ratio to shoot for. My question, at what blood glucose level do you normally correct after a meal? Do you wait for the 170 level or higher? Is 160 mg/dL a decent level? Do you wait two hours after the meal to make any corrections? Thanks in advance for any experience you can share.

Hey Chris,
I am sorry you are heading down the insulin to survive group but once you get the hang of it, you will probably start feeling better.
That said, your question is definitely a doctor or CDE question. No idea what you current insulin doses are, your carb ratios and do you have different ratios for different meals(many of us do), correction numbers are different for what part of the day for many of us, and what your target range is. Once you have this talk with your medical team, it is up to you to start your daily life experiments. Each day will issue a different set of numbers and reactions to those numbers. And what works today might not work tomorrow.
Sorry I don’t have an answer for you but I do recommend a book by John Walsh Using Insulin. It is a resource book I still have in my diabetes library.
Good luck and once you get some targets and numbers from your team, there are many who can help with fine tuning. It’s just most of us don’t like giving dosing plans. I am not a medical professional except for my own diabetes.

Unfortunately, everyone’s insulin needs vary. Your doctor can only start you in a certain direction. Your best bet is going to be too gather lots of data in these early early days. I would highly recommend going into your app store of choice and typing the word “insulin” into the search field. There are LOTS of app options to choose from.

At the bare minimum you need to be recording in it what you eat, his much insulin you took and when, and all your fingersticks. The more data, the better!