Diagnosed 08/14/07 at age 33

Hello everyone.

My sister Mollie directed me to this site, she has been a Type I for 33 years and coincidentally I was diagnose at age 33. I am a Hospital Social Worker and was at work on Tuesday and was not feeling well. Knowing the signs of high blood sugar from growing up around diabetes I asked a nurse to do a finger prick, the reading came back HIGH. So she tried another meter and it came back HI. I went down to the ER and they did a serum glucose level and it came back 686. They gave me 10 units of regular and 2 hours later I was at 60, my first low, I felt like I was going to die…
My A1C was 11.0.

I was admitted to the hospital and just got out today. The Dr.'s and RN’s were shocked I was not spilling acetone and that my total cholesterol was 144, Triglycerides were 115, LDL was 88 and HDL was 33. So the only thing bad there is my HDL and it is not terrible.

So I spent 3 nights hospitalized and the first 2 days were a roller coaster bouncing from 300 down to 60 up to 250 and as low as 35, I really felt like I was crazy at 35. Last night and today I have managed to keep my blood sugar below 170 and only went below 80 once (56) and was discharged home this afternoon.

My sugars have been good thanks to my sisters advice I and taking one unit of Humalog per 15 carbs and the hospital has me taking 35 of Lantis at 9:30 every night.

I find that I spend 95% of my time thinking about my blood sugar. Am I crashing? Am I High? Ma I crashing? But I know in time I will figure it all out and life will return to normal.

I am glad my sister directed me here and although I would rather not be a member I am glad I am here.

Cheers,

Mark

Mark,