Discrimination by the Medical College Admissions Test- Anybody able to give legal advice?

Hello,

So obviously I’m a diabetic, and since I need to take my insulin and testing supplies to this test with me, I filled out all the required forms to receive disabilities accommodations. Despite the hassle of paperwork, this was pretty simple and the accommodations granted are quite generous.

However, I was told to register for a regular seat and then call to confirm so that they could prepare to accommodate me at the testing site. I’m a Montana resident, and since I was planning on taking it while I was home this summer, I registered for a seat at one of the Montana testing sites.

After a 40 minutes on hold, I finally was put through to somebody only to be told that none of the 2 or 4 testing sites in Montana can accommodate my disability (they require me to be in a separate room so my insulin pump won’t distract anybody or something like that). NONE!!! Then they say, “Where can you travel to?” Ummm…nowhere? I live in Montana and it’s ridiculous to have to go to a different state to take the test just because I have a disability. SO, I ended up just signing up to take the test in Seattle- that’s where I go to college and luckily I have a friend I can stay with since student dorms are shut down.

Is it legal to make someone cross state lines to take a test? Doesn’t that violate some part of the ADA like equal opportunity/equal access since it’s required to get into medical school? Isn’t it illegal for all the testing sites in Montana to be unable to accommodate a disability?

Obviously, I’m in college so I can’t really afford to take any legal action, but am I right in thinking that I’m being illegally discriminated against?

Hi Lindsay! Sorry to hear about this! What a pain…

One of our members, Rick Phillips, is a lawyer and often has good legal advice. Maybe you can ask him!